Dogs Set Opening Day Roster for Inaugural Season

Rosemont, Ill. – The Chicago Dogs announced today the Opening Day Roster for their inaugural  season. The roster features 22 active players and two players on the disabled list.

The Dogs released right-handed pitcher Richard Ruff, left-handed pitcher Evan Smith, and outfielder Tony Rosselli, and signed catcher Alex Lugo, utility man Treyson Vavra, and outfielder Jonathan Moroney. Additionally, the team placed left-handed pitcher Scott Barnes and outfielder Shawon Dunston Jr. on the disabled list to begin the season.

With the signing of Chicago native, Alex Lugo, the club’s Opening Day roster features five players—Lugo (Chicago), Kyle Gaedele (Arlington Heights), Joe Benson (Hinsdale), Rich Mascheri (Wauconda), and Scott Firth (Buffalo Grove)—with ties to the Chicagoland area.

The Dogs begin their inaugural campaign on Friday, May 18 in Sioux Falls, S.D. with a three-game set against the Sioux Falls Canaries. The team will then travel to St. Paul, Minn. for another three-game series against the St. Paul Saints, before returning home to take on the Kansas City T-Bones in their home opener on Friday, May 25.

Dogs 2018 Opening Day Roster:

#3      Kaohi Downing                LHP       Honolulu, HI

#4      Kyle Gaedele                     OF          Arlington Heights, IL

#5       Joe Benson                       OF          Hinsdale, IL

#6       Jonathan Moroney         OF          Houston, TX

#7       Miles Moeller                   LHP       Phoenix, AZ

#8       Shawon Dunston Jr.      OF          Fremont, CA

#9       Michael Baca                   INF        Clovis, NM

#10     Matt Dean                        INF        Edmond, OK

#11      Edwin Arroyo                  INF        Trujillo Alto, PR

#12      Scott Barnes                    LHP       Springfield, MA

#13      Josh Goossen-Brown    RHP      Sherman Oaks, CA

#14      Matt Telesco                    INF       Fresno, CA

#15      Kylin Turnbull                 LHP       Seattle, WA

#19      Tommy Thorpe              LHP       Vancouver, WA

#20      Scott Firth                      RHP       Buffalo Grove, IL

#23      Michael Wagner            RHP       Las Vegas, NV

#24      Craig Maddox                UTIL      Locust Grove, GA

#25      Wilfredo Rodriguez      C            San Juan, PR

#27       Taylor Grover                RHP      North Augusta, SC

#28       Rich Mascheri               LHP      Wauconda, IL

#30       Connor Root                 RHP      Nashua, NH

#33       Treyson Vavra               UTIL      Mesa, AZ

#34       Tyson Perez                   RHP      Hanford, CA

#35        Alex Lugo                      C            Chicago, IL